Tuesday, 19 April 2016

Strasbourg, a city between two countries (France)

In the Middle Ages was Strasbourg a Free Imperial City within the Holy Roman Empire. In 1681 the city was conquered by France, but it was still affected by the Germans. During the Franco-Prussian War Strasbourg was besieged by German troops and it capitulated in 1870. In 1871 it became the capital of the Imperial Territory of Alsace-Lorraine within the German Empire. After World War I Alsace-Lorraine declared its independence, but it was soon captured by French troops. In 1940 the city was once again conquered by German troops and in 1944 it was freed by Allied forces. After World War II Strasbourg became a part of France.

Today is Strasbourg the capital and largest city of the Alsace-Champagne-Ardenne-Lorraine region in eastern France and the seventh largest city of France. The Grand Île, Strasbourg's historic centre, is since 1988 on the UNESCO World Heritage List. France's oldest and biggest Christmas market is also held in Strasbourg.

After World War II Strasbourg became a symbol of the French-German reconciliation and the European integration, as the city's European District became home to various European institutions. It is the home to the Council of Europe, the European Court of Human Rights and the European Parliament. It is considered to be one of the Capitals of Europe. The European District of Strasbourg got the European Heritage Label in 2015.

No comments:

Post a Comment