Sunday, 18 September 2016

The Colonies of Portugal (Angola, Brazil, India, Macao, Malaysia)

Portugal was the first European country with overseas colonies. The first colony was created in 1415 and the last was lost in 1999. Thus it was also the longest-lived of the modern European colonial empires. The colonies brought great wealth to Portugal. 

According to the Treaty of Tordesillas Brazil became a part of Portugal and remained it until 1822, when it declared its independence. 

Salvador was founded in 1549 and became the first capital of Brazil. It is one of the oldest colonial cities in the Americas and was also the first slave market in the New World. It remained the capital of Brazil until 1763. The Historic Centre of Salvador de Bahia is since 1985 on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

São Luís has the largest and best preserved heritage of colonial
Portuguese architecture in Latin America and is since 1997 on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

The region of Goa was conquered by the Portuguese in 1510. In 1961 Indian forces invaded the area. Portugal just recognised the annexion in 1974 and since 1987 is Goa a State within the Indian Federation and not anymore a territory of the union.

Malacca became a Portuguese colony in 1511, but already in 1641 it was conquered by the Netherlands. Later it also became a colony of the United Kingdom.

In 1557 Macau was rented to Portugal from Ming China as a trading port and in 1887 it became a colony. In 1999 the city was given to China as last remaining European colony in Asia.

The Historic Centre of Macao is one of the earliest and longest-lasting encounters between China and the West and provides a unique testimony to the meeting of influences from East and West. Since 2005 is the Historic Centre of Macao a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Angola was first reached by the Portuguese in 1484. It later became a colony and various settlements were founded in the coastal region. Beginning in the 18th century settlements were also founded in the country's interior. Independence was achieved in 1975 under communist rule backed by the Soviet Union after the Angolan War of Independence.

Angola's capital Luanda was founded by the Portuguese in 1575. Today it is the World's largest Portuguese-speaking capital.

No comments:

Post a Comment